Creative Challenge | Close-Up Portraiture

Recently I joined the community of photographers over at Clickin’ Moms, which may seem a little odd for someone who is, um, not actually a mom (although I do sometimes refer to my Canon as “my baby.”)  But since I’m a “Clickin’ Aunt,” I guess they decided it was OK to let me in.  Which is quite nice as I’ve found it a tremendous source of inspiration, learning, and support.

One way I’ve been inspired is to participate in a monthly creative challenge.  Together with about a dozen or so other photographers in my group, we’ll focus each month on a particular theme: January’s was close-up portraiture.

My friend Jennifer, who is an extraordinary mom, teacher, and friend, is also a gifted poet, and she agreed to let me photograph her for this challenge while she was editing a piece called “Mother Dreams.”  I love how in these images you can see both a thoughtful intensity and her joyful spirit.

january2013closeup

“There is no definition of beauty, but when you can see someone’s spirit coming through, something unexplainable, that’s beautiful to me.”
~Liv Tyler

Now, if you would, follow me on over to Haley Lorraine’s blog to see how she handled this month’s challenge.

13 thoughts on “Creative Challenge | Close-Up Portraiture

  1. Pingback: Creative Challenge | Close-up Portraits « Lindsey Caroon Photography

Leave a comment

