167/366: Sunny

Taken June 15, 2012

I’ve said before that this project was meant to be an exploration of photography, not a documentation of my personal life this year. But with Mom still in the hospital recovering from surgery and facing chemo soon, the fact is: the time I’m able to devote to photography is limited right now. My life has been revolving around the hospital, home, and work, and I don’t feel all that inspired by the scenery.

So I know not everything I’m posting is worth a look. Sometimes all I can manage is a quick and thoughtless snap of the iPhone. And sometimes, even though I am managing to take a daily photo, I’m simply unable to post every day.

I’m looking forward to the day when Mom is better, when I can devote more time and energy to the creative process again, and I hope you’ll stick with me through some lackluster posts until then.

Yesterday was her birthday, and although most people would say it sucks to spend your birthday in the hospital, she was her bright and sunny self. Which is why I snapped this flower—a reminder of the warmth and light she brings to all who know her. What a beautiful gift it was the day she entered the world 64 years ago.

4 thoughts on “167/366: Sunny

  1. I think it is the energy and initiative that is appreciated here with your ‘picture-a-day’…that is what grabs me….Get well wishes to your mommy!

  2. I agree with SE, art is relative and you’re kinda mine! That’s good enough for me, and I look forward to it! Thanks!

Leave a comment

