Day 1/366: Sunlit Leaves

I was struck by the backlighting on the leaves of this mini rhododendron early this morning.  This is my favorite time of day to shoot—when the light is warm and the day is still young and holds so much promise.

The leaves seemed like an appropriate subject for New Year’s Day since so many of us view a new year as a fresh start, a time to “turn over a new leaf.”

In a way, I guess that’s what I’m trying to do with this blog and the Project 365 Challenge.  The challenge invites folks to post a photo a day for the next 365 days.  (Make that 366 because it’s a Leap Year.)  I’m doing it because I want to make sure that I don’t get swallowed up with work (as is my tendency) and that I do make more time for creative pursuits I enjoy like photography and writing.

Critiques, comments, and photography tips are welcome.  And if you’re interested in doing the challenge yourself, go check out Photojojo.

Shot with Canon 60D – 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II @ 105 mm.  ISO 200 – f/7.1 – 1/25 – WB:  Cloudy.  Post-processing:  HDR-ish in Picnik*

*I know, I know…serious photographers cringe at the mention of Picnik, but that’s where I play in post-processing because, well, Photoshop and me?  We have a ways to go yet.
3 thoughts on “Day 1/366: Sunlit Leaves

Leave a comment

