25/52: Let There Be Light!

p52-w257984HDRweb

Week 25’s assigned lyrics: “Bright lights and the bigger city”

From CeeLo Green’s “Bright Lights Bigger City”

I only passed through the city during the daytime this week while on my way to a photography workshop at Pennhurst State School and Hospital, a former institution for the mentally and physically disabled which closed its doors in 1987 after decades of overcrowding and widespread patient neglect and abuse.  With its sad and dark history and buildings in a state of decay, there is a sometimes heavy vibe here. And a lot of actual darkness. Like in the basement. Oh please—don’t leave me alone in that basement!  With the workshop participants scattered our separate ways and me being the gigantic chicken that I am, I found myself gravitating toward floors and rooms where there was some window light, like in this hallway here.

So yes, “bright lights.” Let’s have some bright lights!

 

One thought on “25/52: Let There Be Light!

Leave a comment